Solano County DUI with Minor Passenger Lawyer
Charged with DUI with a Minor in the Vehicle in Solano County?
If you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) with a minor in the vehicle, you could face serious consequences. California law prohibits drivers from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two while there is a child passenger in the vehicle. A conviction could result in the loss of your driving privileges and the suspension of your driver's license, as well as other serious penalties.
Our DUI team at Maas & Russo could help defend you against DUI with a minor in the vehicle charges. We could help you fight the charges against you and could attempt to have the minor's testimony inadmissible in court.
Laws & Penalties for DUI with a Minor in the Vehicle in California
In California, driving under the influence (DUI) with a minor passenger under 14 years old in the vehicle is considered a separate offense that carries additional penalties beyond those for a standard DUI. The specific laws related to DUI with a minor in California are covered under Vehicle Code Section 23572.
Remember, a first-time DUI offense with a minor in the vehicle is a misdemeanor and could result in a $390 to $1,000 fine, up to 6 months in jail, and a driver's license suspension of up to 1 year. However, a conviction for a DUI with a minor under 14 can carry an additional 48 hours in county jail.
For a second DUI offense, violating VC 23572 can result in an additional 10 days in jail. For a third offense, it's an additional 30 days in jail. For a fourth DUI, it's an additional 90 days in jail.
Other penalties include:
Lengthened License Suspension: Your driving privileges may be suspended for an extended period, typically ranging from 1 to 3 years.
Increased Fines: The fines for a DUI offense are typically higher when a minor is present in the vehicle.
Mandatory DUI Education Program: You may be required to complete a longer DUI education program, such as an extended alcohol or drug treatment program.
Child Endangerment Charges: Apart from the DUI charges, you may also face separate charges of child endangerment, which can carry additional penalties.
If you are charged with DUI with a minor in the vehicle, the prosecutor could use the testimony of the minor against you. It is highly likely that the minor will be called to testify against you in court. However, the minor's testimony could be used in a way that is not beneficial to your case.
Let Our Firm Fight for You!
If you are facing DUI with a minor in the vehicle charges, you should contact an attorney as soon as possible. DUI with a minor in the vehicle is a very serious offense and could result in a conviction and the loss of your driver's license. The best way to protect your rights is to hire our experienced team at Maas & Russo.
Dismissed Assault Weapon & Drug Possession Charges
Case Dimissed Assault With a Deadly Weapon Charge
Not Guilty Assault with Great Bodily Injury
Not Guilty Attempted Murder
Case Dismissed Attempted Murder Charges
Not guilty Charged with Intentional Discharge At An Occupied Motor Vehicle